Mon français est horrible!

On February 7, 2014 I will be sworn in as a Peace Corps Volunteer (upon successful completion of PST, of course!) and I will end my service on February 7, 2016.

Currently, I’m afraid. There’s a lot going on now; tasks to complete, languages to learn (aidez-moi!!!!), specialty items to order, bags to pack, affairs to get in order. It all seems like SO MUCH and the days keep on ticking away. I’m finding it rather tempting to slip into a panic mode. I am making a huge life-changing move — I’d be kind of worried about myself if I wasn’t worried! But worrying is one of my largest flaws and something I am constantly trying to improve. So, we’re kicking the panic to the side and focusing on the amazing adventure ahead.

That being said, I’m slacking hard. I’m going to buckle down and get my stuff together.

My plans for the last week of October :

  • practice French every day
  • buy all the things I am getting online for Guinea
  • participate in a conference call with my CD and stage
  • try not to worry and instead happily spend the time I have with the ones I love

Souhaitez-moi bonne chance!

Part of this process involves a lot of reading about what’s to come. I will leave you all with a few tidbits I’ve selected from these documents:

At this point, you should not count on having access to anything qualifying as “high speed” in Guinea, though technological changes are underway.

You will be arriving at the beginning of the dry season. It will be hot and generally dry, so be prepared to wear light clothing with the appropriate degree of coverage…Long skirts, dresses, or trousers and light, sleeved cotton shirts are appropriate for women.

One thought on “Mon français est horrible!

Leave a Reply

